Blogging Paralysis – A Serious Condition

Ahem…so it’s been over half a year since I last posted.  And a lot has happened since then! We bought a house in the middle of a forest.  Linus George was born on December 15, 2009! and 3 days later we moved ourselves into said house in forest…a day before the first snow blizzard hit said forest. A couple more blizzards later and spring came! Linus and I slowly but surely started figuring things out right as the unseasonably warm weather started in around late February! And we have been on the move ever since.  A few loyal friends have encouraged me to pick back up my pen (er keyboard) and start blogging again.  So for you few, (you know who you are!) I’m making an attempt.

There are a few things I really want to blog about, especially before I forget them.  These will be forthcoming posts (a promise I have to hold myself to!): Linus’ birth, the Breastfeeding story and making baby food.  I know it’s all baby baby baby, but I do believe these topics are really pertinent to the overall food discussion I would like to have on here and besides, that’s what’s happening around my kitchen nowadays anyhow.

Last week I canned for the first time! And it wasn’t so bad! Though I do wish my Ball canning kit would have come with a sturdier canning rack; small jars don’t fit very snuggly on the one I have, so I had to improvise with some other round cooling racks I found. I made Strawberry Wine Jelly from the Ball’s Complete Book of Home Preserving a great canning resource my aunt gave me a few months back. I picked up a quart of strawberries from the Agriberry stand at the South of the James Farmer’s Market two Saturdays ago…and a bottle of Portuguese dry white wine later I had myself some berry wine jelly.  Now, I’m not sure how I feel about it.  It tastes a bit strong on the wine and sugar, but when you pair it with cheese, it’s divine. Good thing I made these in the suggested 4 oz jars, a teeny tiny bit goes a long way.  Though next time I think I will cut down on the sugar.

Also! I grew a couple strawberries this spring, another first.  The birds and squirrels got to most of them but I managed to get a photo of this plumper before they were all gone.

*Above photo taken and processed with the Droid FxCamera app.

Another thing that happened to me during my break! How did I ever live without the luxury of this phone!

PS

We did not join a CSA or Co-op this season, partly for financial reasons and partly because I wanted to do more research on all the choices.  I plan on going to a lot of farmers markets throughout the week to keep us well stocked; including South of the James on Saturdays, Byrd House Market on Tuesdays and the Huguenot-Robious Market on Thursdays.

This entry was posted in CSA, local food news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging Paralysis – A Serious Condition

  1. Nicole Lang says:

    YAY!! Welcome back!

  2. leta says:

    Missed you so!

  3. Susan says:

    Augh, I missed this! After all that pressuring! You might even have inspired me to dust off Google Reader and keep track of the internet again!

Leave a Reply

