Spinach Pesto in a Pinch

spinach_pesto

Saturday night I had little motivation and really had to talk myself (and R) down from ordering out.  I’m so glad I did.  I had a bunch of spinach sitting in my fridge (roots attached, which I’m sure helped its longevity) and decided to make a pesto with it using the spring garlic I picked up earlier in the share, along with some of the parsley too.  The super GREEN color instantly energized me and dinner was saved and homemade! yay!  I added a handful of olives for a bit of a vinegary bite, mmm.

Welcome Spring!

Spinach Pesto

  • 4 cups spinach leaves (stems removed)
  • 2 tbsp chopped spring garlic or 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp chopped parsely
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 grated parm
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a food processor combine the garlic and nuts first until coarsely ground.  Add spinach and parsley in handfuls.  Pour in olive oil and scrape down sides to get it all in there.  Add cheese and puree.  Adjust ingredients to taste.  Enjoy on anything!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach Pesto in a Pinch

  1. Nicole says:

    I want to eat this RIGHT NOW

  2. ophile says:

    We’re having leftovers now! Come over! Oh right…:(

Leave a Reply

