Roasted Soy-Ginger Poussin with Carrots and Bulgur

chicken_carrot_bulgur

We picked up this butterflied poussin (young chicken) in last week’s share and when I opened up the April issue of Everyday Food and saw the recipe for “orange-glazed chicken with carrots and bulgur” I knew what to prepare for dinner this week.  The chicken was packed in a soy-ginger marinade and did not need anything further from me than to throw it in the oven to roast.  The marinade was quite delicious, with orange juice, ginger, soy sauce, honey, garlic, scallions, sesame oil and seeds.  Perfect.  The carrots and bulgur (one of my most favorite grains!!!) were also rather nice, except my carrots never browned and next time I think I will throw in some shallots to give it a more buttery flavor.  But at least I found a way to use a load of the carrots from last week’s share pick-up!  😉  This meal was so quick n easy throw it into the rotation!

*Don’t you just love the packaging for the Bulgur?!

This entry was posted in CSA, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Soy-Ginger Poussin with Carrots and Bulgur

  1. Holly says:

    So where might one get Bulgur?

  2. ophile says:

    I bought this box at Wegmans, but most stores should have it too. Check in the health food aisle. You could also try Middle Eastern markets.

  3. Susan says:

    I made carrots and bulgur from EF last night, coincidentally! So easy. If bulgur and quinoa were dudes, I wouldn’t know which one to marry.

    My carrots actually seared instead of browned, but it made them kind of better, I thought.

Leave a Reply

