Alton Brown’s Meatloaf

meatloaf1

Last week I decided I wanted to make meatloaf.  I’ve never made it before and to be honest I don’t think I have ever tried it!  I know, bizarre! Meatloaf is definitely one of those All-American recipes that never caught my Greek parents’ fancy.  And I’m sure if they were to make it the recipe would be modified into using lots of oregano and lemon juice vs. ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I found it to be quite a great variation on meatballs/hamburgers and the best part??? LEFTOVERS!  I almost can’t wait for dinner tomorrow!  I think the thought of not having to prepare anything tomorrow (except maybe fresh mashed potatoes) is really the best part!  The recipe is Alton Brown’s from The Food Network and the reviews were abundant and stellar, so I had to try it.  I made some adjustments: used my own breadcrumbs that I mixed with some garlic salt, also combined a half pound of ground pork in with the ground beef.  The sauce was great too!  AND I discovered “Hot & Spicy” Heinz Ketchup which covered the ketchup and Tabasco elements perfectly!  I paired the meatloaf with some mashed potatoes and a red cabbage-orange salad.

red_cabbage_orange_salad

*I like how my cutting board is all purple from the cabbage!  I might have to try to dye some eggs this year for Greek Easter using red cabbage or beets? hmmm.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

