Galumpkis

galumpkis

Not too many photos of these stuffed cabbage rolls since it was a very sloppy presentation, but the flavor was there!  Galumpkis are sorta like Greek Dolmades, they use cabbage leaves for wrapping instead of grape leaves and have a tomato sauce instead of the avgolemono (egg-lemon sauce).  I was originally thinking that I would just braise the cabbage, but Tuesday night was really snowy cold and I wanted something hearty so I looked up a stuffed cabbage recipe and found this one from Tyler Florence.  Since I had most of the ingredients (minus the ground pork) and the reviews were so positive, I decided to go with it.  The cabbage turned out too small and I didn’t have enough leaves to roll up all the stuffing so I ended up sprinkling the rest of it over the pan and covering it with the sauce.  It turned out super tasty and we had leftovers forever.  Great snowy evening dinner!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Galumpkis

  1. Peter says:

    Never heard of these Galumpki but they get major points for their name….everyone say Galumpki!

Leave a Reply

