HOLIDAZE 2008

holidays2008

This holiday season has been a tight one, budget-wise.  So I decided I would make baskets of goodies for our families and forego actual shopping.  Though after all was said and done (packaging, ingredients and shipping), it would have been cheaper to have just bought gift certificates and been done with it.  BUT not as personal, nor special.  I tried to make it somewhat local and bought some chocolate pretzels (I mean you don’t get much more Philly than pretzels, right?), local honey from Greensgrow’s Kensington Christmas Market and some beautifully packaged teas from Jennie of the “Straight from the Farm” blog here in Philly.  At the Plaid Pony Vintage open house a few weeks ago, I found some rad vintage dairy “Purvin” jars with milk glass of various colors!  and used them for packaging my caramels.

These are the treats I made for the baskets:

Crisp Anise Cookies – Martha

Butter Pretzel Cookies – EVERYDAY FOOD, Martha

Chocolate-Hazelnut Cookies – Gourmet

Crackerjacks Caramel Popcorn

Fleur de Sel Caramels – Epicurious/Gourmet

Candy Cane Oreo Truffles (using Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s as suggested on AT: The Kitchn)

There was so much more I wanted to make!  but just ran out of time.  There’s always next year right?

I hope you all have a happy holiday!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HOLIDAZE 2008

  1. Oh wow, neat idea.
    They all look fabulous!

  2. liz says:

    you make it look so easy! amazing!

  3. Fill says:

    The pretzels were tough. I tried those as well. after my dough kept falling apart I gave up and made the remaining dough into jam thumbprint cookies.

  4. ophile says:

    Fill – that sucks about your pretzel cookies! was your butter at room temp? A couple of my cookies dried up and fell apart while rolling them. But most of them came out fine. I also put soem orange zest in there, maybe that helped?

Leave a Reply

