Obama Family Chili Wins!

obama-chili-wins

I’m not sure what else there is to say!  My tummy and my candidate won last night!

The Hopecakes from Homesick Texan were pretty good, but I messed up the first batch of them.  And my Concord Grape Cocktails were delicious but I think upset my stomach (along with staining my whole kitchen purple! haha!). I made juice the night before from a pint of concord grapes and mixed it with some vodka and soda water-SLURP!

Obama Family Chili

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • Several cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pound ground turkey or beef
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground basil
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Several tomatoes, depending on size, chopped
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • I also added some chopped jalapenos and a can of tomato paste.

Saute onions, green pepper and garlic in olive oil until soft.

Add ground meat and brown.

Combine spices together into a mixture, then add to ground meat.

Add red wine vinegar.

Add tomatoes and let simmer, until tomatoes cook down.

Add kidney beans and cook for a few more minutes.

Serve over white or brown rice. Garnish with grated cheddar cheese, onions and sour cream.


This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Obama Family Chili Wins!

  1. Peter says:

    Ophile, all you’re missing is some fine corn bread to dip into this.

    It’s a fine time for the US!

  2. liz says:

    heartburn and victory ! who could ask for more!
    woot woot!

  3. Amy says:

    AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!
    VA and Pennsylvania rock the house.

  4. ophile says:

    I’m so proud of my two states, VA and PA! I’ll be down this weekend to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

