Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Onions & Bacon

This meal was so quick and easy it was finished before the rice was even done! I cleaned and halved a pint of brussels sprouts, tossed them with olive oil and S&P and roasted them in a 400º oven for about 20 minutes.  While the sprouts were roasting, I fried up 5 strips of bacon in a non-stick skillet.  When they were done I removed them to a papertowel lined plate to drain and then I sauteed a medium chopped onion in the bacon oil.  I added about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and let that all simmer for a couple minutes.  When the sprouts were nice and crispy, I removed them from the oven and tossed them in with the onions.  I then crushed the bacon over the mixture and served it with some of Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Medley (my new favorite rice!!!)

This was SO TASTY!  Perfect flavor combination! And really filling.  I will be making this often.

I also wanted to share an amazing gift my friend Elizabeth made for me, OWL CHOCOLATES on a STICK!  They are so cool!  Thank you Liz!!!  You are totally Martha!

AND a Happy Birthday to my friend Muna!!!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Onions & Bacon

  1. burgerphone says:

    This looks really good. Last night Rich served our leftover penne alla vodka with bacon on it. AMAZING. Bacon is magical.

  2. ophile says:

    bacon fixes everything, hahaha.

  3. Peter says:

    I think it’s universal that bacon & b-sprouts rock! There are many variant dishes like this but they underline how tasty b-sprouts can be.

  4. ophile says:

    I agree, sprouts and cabbage pair nicely with bacon!

Leave a Reply

