Eggplant Ricotta Bake

My husband has discovered recently that he doesn’t care for eggplants (ah! my heart!) and so when I plan to cook with them I have to make sure he has an alternative dinner option.  Since last night was burrito night (his one food passion-and talent!) he had leftovers tonight, which left me free to make a solo eggplant dish.  I was looking to make some sort of eggplant parmesan, but really wanted to avoid the frying, when I found this recipe on the Martha site!  Martha and her people are BRILLIANT!  I halved the recipe and baked it in an individual ramekin.  It was awesome and overflowing!  I think next time I will bake it in 2 ramekins and have leftovers, wink!

Eggplant Ricotta Bake

(adapted from Martha Stewart)

Ingredients

Serves 1-2

  • 1 eggplant, sliced width-wise 3/4 inch thick
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for baking dish
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 8 oz ricotta (I used Greensgrow’s very own!)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I used Pecorino, all I had)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano (or 2 teaspoons dried)
  • 1 jar (16 ounces) store-bought marinara sauce (2 cups) I made a cup of my own sauce with plum tomatoes (peeled and chopped) and chopped garlic.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Arrange eggplant slices in a single layer on a baking sheet. Brush lightly on both sides with oil; season with salt and pepper. Roast until eggplant is tender and golden, turning halfway through, 25 to 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together ricotta, egg, 1/4 cup Parmesan, oregano, salt & pepper. Brush ramekin with oil.
  3. Lay a couple slices of eggplant in bottom of prepared dish; spread with half of marinara sauce. Top with another couple slices of eggplant; spread with half of ricotta. Repeat layers, ending with ricotta; sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan. Bake until bubbling and golden, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

