Smoked Gouda Open-Faced Sandwiches and Summer Salad

Shame, shame on me for not posting at all this week until now!  But today, you get TWO!

I made this dinner on Wednesday night with the Calkin’s Creamery Smoked Gouda I picked up in the share last week.  Deeelicious!  Everything in the dinner was either from the Greensgrow share, Almanac Market or my plants (minus oil, vinegar, salt and pepper).  A great, quick midweek meal!

Smoked Gouda Open-Faced Sandwiches

  • 1-2 cups shredded Gouda
  • 1 apple shredded
  • 2 handfuls of shallots (peeled and sliced)
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • crusty bread
  • Sliced Turkey (optional) – I used some Maple/Honey Applegate Farms Turkey I got form Almanac, so stoked to be able to get some sliced deli meats at the local markets!
  • olive oil, S&P

Saute the shallots with olive oil and rosemary until caramelized.  Combine the shredded apple and gouda and spread on bread slices and top with shallots.  Bake in oven until cheese melts and bread is crisp, about 20 minutes on 350º.  (I placed the turkey slices underneath the cheese layer.)

For the salad I chopped up some peppers, cucumber and heirloom cherry tomatoes and tossed them with olive oil and white wine vinegar, great summer salad!

This entry was posted in local food news, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smoked Gouda Open-Faced Sandwiches and Summer Salad

  1. Laura says:

    This looks so Yummy!!! When I was in Woodstock earlier this week, I had a brie, apple, thyme, and honey sandwich for the first time, it was so good. I’m loving all the variations on the good ol’ “grilled cheese”

Leave a Reply

