Corn + Tomato Chowder

Just the other day I was telling my friend, Anne Marie, that I am not a big soup person…and then what do I go and do? I make soup, chowder actually. Though I’m not a fan of warm, liquid dinners (especially in the summer), this is a perfect way to showcase some of summer’s yummy bounty: tomatoes and sweet corn! If I actually used forethought, I might freeze this soup…but I actually don’t know how soups with dairy hold up in the freezer. So I better just enjoy it now! 🙂

I paired the chowder with a simple green salad and some Portelet cheese from the share this week. YUM!

Corn and Tomato Chowder

2 tbsp butter or margarine (30 ml)
¼ cup chopped onion (50 ml) (I would have liked a little more onion in there)
¼ cup chopped celery (50 ml)
1 garlic clove, minced (I would have used another clove or two)
2 tbsp flour (30 ml)
2 cups peeled, chopped fresh tomatoes (500 ml)
2 potatoes, diced
1 cup chicken broth (250 ml)
2 cups milk (500 ml) (Less milk I think. It was too soupy, less chowdery.)
2 cups kernel corn (500 ml)
½ tsp thyme (2 ml)
½ tsp salt (2 ml)
¼ tsp pepper (1 ml)

Saute onions, celery and garlic in butter in a large pan. Add flour & mix.

Add tomatoes, potatoes and broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender.

In a separate pan heat, but do not boil, milk (or you can heat it in a microwave). Add heated milk and corn to the tomato mix. Mix well. Add seasonings. Heat but do not boil.

Serve hot.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corn + Tomato Chowder

  1. roo says:

    This looks REALLY good!

    I’m going to have to experiment on it using vegetable broth and soy milk!

  2. Nicole says:

    OMG girl. You are my hero. This blog is beautiful. You make me feel like a lazy slob. I gotta get up on the photographing of our dinners! Also, I miss you.
    N

Leave a Reply

