Seitan’s Tacos

We got some Ray’s Seitan (local company!) in our share a couple weeks ago and it has been sitting in the fridge patiently waiting for me to do something with it. I LOVE seitan, when it’s done right. It does not taste like meat to me, or I should say not a meat I have tasted, but it definitely has a more interesting texture than spongy tofu and granola-like tempeh. I was searching and searching for a recipe that would really showcase this stuff and also have been recently missing our local restaurant, Azure, which had the best Seitan Tips (though a bit salty honestly). Unfortunately, Azure closed down this past spring and yet another tapas place has opened in its space, blah. In consideration of what I had laying around, I figured I would make tacos.

I was going to rub the seitan with chili powder and roast it in the oven, but after talking with my friend Nicole (an avid seitan consumer) I decided on pan frying as a quicker, crispier solution. My seitan did not come out as seared as I would have liked, a lot of it just stuck to the bottom of my skillet, but it was flavored well. I tossed it with red onions, garlic, chili powder, cumin, some hot peppers and a green bell pepper (this is based off a favorite recipe for butternut squash tacos that Nicole passed onto me). Next time I think I will use more red onion and not cook it down as much, keep the onion a little bit more raw and fresh tasting.

* The top right photo looks like some retarded seitan flan to me, haha.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seitan’s Tacos

  1. Anne Marie says:

    YUM. The site is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

