Pesto Crusted Salmon with Roasted Potatoes

Dude, I cleaned my plate!

You may have noticed that I have been gone for a while (all 5 of you, thank you!).  I was out of town for many reasons (engagements & nuptials!) but also I finally screened my thesis at American University last week and now officially have another notch on the ol’ education belt (yay!).

Since we were out of town and Greensgrow didn’t have a pick up this past weekend, our fridge was bare.  SO, I had an excuse to go try the new sustainable seafood market that just opened down the street, Otolith! Amanda, the owner, helped me pick out some wild keta salmon that she recommended would go well with a pesto crust.  (We also chatted about salted cod and she said she would get some in!  I’m craving some Greek style bacalao!)  The salmon was perfect! Thanks Amanda!  Really easy recipe too, just cover your salmon piece with pesto and broil until flaky.  I let the fish marinate in some white wine prior to applying the pesto which I think helped counter the richness of the pesto.

To accompany the salmon I roasted some red potatoes with rosemary and garlic – THEY WERE DELICIOUS!!! Especially great to dip in the extra pesto sauce.  wink.

This entry was posted in local food news, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pesto Crusted Salmon with Roasted Potatoes

  1. Garden Girl Vienna says:

    I tried basil on Salmon last time I baked a piece in the oven and it was delicious. I never thought of basil and salmon before, but I will try your pesto and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

