Zucchini Casserole ala Ellen

My friend, Elizabeth Ellen, swears by her mother’s Zucchini Casserole.  I had two zucchini hanging out waiting for something to do, so I asked her for the recipe and made it tonight as a side dish to our angus burgers.

Zucchini Casserole ala Ellen

2 cups mashed squash or zucchini
1 small onion, diced
½ cup cream or half/half
1/4 cup saltines or Ritz crackers
2 T. Butter

Slice squash. Boil in salted water until done.
Drain and mash (food processor works good).
Saute onion in butter. Mix onion with squash
and add cream and mashed crackers. Put all
into a greased casserole (8x8x3 or similar size).
Top with buttered bread crumbs or cracker
crumbs. Bake at 400∘ for about ½ hour or
until firm.

Adjustments:

  • I didn’t boil the zucchini, just shredded it raw in the processor.
  • I added chopped sage and rosemary to the onion saute.
  • I didn’t have crackers, so I just crushed up some pita chips.
  • I added some chevre to the mixture.

It was deeelicious!  My only problem was it never got very stiff, but that was probably cuz I was in such a hurry to eat it I couldn’t wait for it to bake…I still ate half the pan, stiff or not. 🙂

The angus burgers came out much better than the 4th of July fiasco and instead of using regular buns, I sandwiched them in Roasted Onion Ciabatta rolls I picked up from the Wild Flour Bakery stand at the Farmers’ Market in Northern Liberties yesterday.  At the Wild Flour Bakery stand they also sell these awesome crackers in different flavors; you get 2 crackers (5″x7″) for $1!!!.  My favorite is  the cardamom & sucre cracker, but they didn’t have any, so instead I got olive & fennel and roasted garlic & rosemary.  MMMMMMM!!!!

*Isn’t their font lovely?  I love their packaging design.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

