Fresh (and some dried) Fig Ice Cream

Unfortunately, the photos in this case look better than the food tastes.  I totally screwed up on this ice cream recipe from David Leibovitz’s book The Perfect Scoop.  The recipe calls for about 20 fresh figs, I only had 8 so I thought I would throw in 8 dried figs to substitute…but I didn’t consider how sweet dried figs are!  Which would have been okay…if I hadn’t poured in all the sugar the recipe calls for!  Ugh.  I still froze it and will slowly eat it (even if it makes my teeth rot!) but I am sorely disappointed.

Check out Clotilde’s adaptation of this recipe over at Chocolate & Zucchini, she got it right.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

